Azerbaijan Democratic Republic
AZ   |   EN   |   RU


The National Flag

On May 28, 1918 the National Council of Azerbaijan adopted the Declaration of Independence in Tbilisi and proclaimed the foundation of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic.

As that time Baku city was seized by anti-Azerbaijan junta - Baku Council of People's Commissars consisted of Bolshevik-dashnak forces, the first National Government and National Council of

The first flag of the Democratic Republic. June 21, 1918

Azerbaijan moved to Ganja on June 16, 1918. 

The Provisional National Government started its struggle for independence of Azerbaijan in the most arduous political situation. The early days of Ganja period activity of the Government went down in our history by adoption of various significant resolutions, including the law on the national flag of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic (June 21, 1918).

Resolution on approval of the Azerbaijani tricolour

By a resolution of the Provisional Government dated June 21, 1918 the red colored flag with white-color crescent and an eight point star in the middle, was approved as a National Flag of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic. That flag was almost the same one existed from the late 18th century to the mid-19th century in Ottoman Empire; just the Ottoman flag depicted a five-pointed star. By acceptance of the Ottoman flag, Azerbaijan was supposed to be the part of the Turkish world. Also, the adoption of the flag of Ottoman Empire by the young Azerbaijan Democratic Republic was evidently assessed as the result of the influence of the political and military situation prevailed at that time in Ganja.  The successive political events, especially the refusal of that banner afterwards and acceptance of the new tricolor national flag of Azerbaijan instead allow of this explanation. 

The Council of Ministers of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic on November 9, 1918 approved the new tricolor flag consisting of three horizontal stripes. The upper stripe was blue, the middle - red, the lower - green. In the middle of the red stripe there were white-color crescent and an eight-point star. 

Our National Flag fluttering over the Republic of Azerbaijan today, for the first time was approved and raised in the building of the Council of Ministers of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic (at present the building of the State Oil Company of Azerbaijan Republic) on November 9, 1918. 

One of the most glorious and memorable days in

Tricolour of the Democratic Republic. November 9, 1918

the history of the National Flag of Azerbaijan was on December 7, 1918 - the day of opening of the Parliament of the first democratic and secular state in the Muslim East and Turkish world – Azerbaijan Democratic Republic.  The flag of Azerbaijan was raised over the Parliament building (at present the building of the Institute of Manuscripts of Azerbaijan).

Unfortunately, the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic officially ceased to exist on May 27, 1920. The symbol of independence – the tricolor flag of the Republic was lowered outside the parliament building on May 3, 1920. 

On February 5, 1991 Supreme Council of the Republic of Azerbaijan adopted a law “On the National Flag of the Azerbaijan Republic”. The tricolor flag was approved as a National Flag of the Republic and started again fluttering over Azerbaijan. 

In accordance with the decree of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan dated November 17, 2009 “Day of State Flag” is celebrated on November 9 of each year.