Azerbaijan Democratic Republic
AZ   |   EN   |   RU

The present day Republic of Azerbaijan which regained its independence in1991, is a political heir of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic existed for 23 months during the years 1918-1920 and entered into the history as the first secular, democratic State in the Islamic East. Retaining the ancient statehood traditions of the Azerbaijani people, the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic succeeded in establishment of State institutions that were deemed progressive for that period of time. The accomplishments in the field of formation of democratic state, economy, culture, education, organization of army and other areas achieved by the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic, which existed in strained and complicated socio-political situation, is a glorious page in the history of the Azerbaijani people.

The day of the adoption of the Declaration of Independence— May 28, 1918—is celebrated as the Independence Day in Azerbaijan.